Stated accuracy matters less than how you brace the back edge · review
Bosch Professional Laser distance meter, site-rated review
The site-rated meter of this hub: Bosch Professional states IP 65 and survival of drops from 1.5 m (5 ft) onto concrete, with seven measuring modes and a color display. The accuracy figure is not in the listing.
What the figures leave us with The one that survives the bag. Buy it for the sealing and the drop rating, and read the manual for the figure the listing leaves out.
The GLM 40-31 is the only meter in this hub whose headline specifications are about staying alive.
What the manufacturer publishes
A robust design stated to survive drops from up to 1.5 m (5 ft) onto concrete, with IP 65 certification against dust and water. A color display and a two-button keypad. Seven measuring modes with automatic length, area and volume calculation. Compatibility with a Li-ion battery as well as the supplied AA cells. Supplied with a pouch, two AA cells, a manual and a quick-start guide.
The figure that is missing
Nowhere in this listing does Bosch Professional state an accuracy in millimeters. That is unusual for the brand and it is worth saying plainly, because accuracy is the specification that decides what the tool is for. We do not fill the gap with a plausible number: the figure is in the specification sheet supplied with the tool, and it is the first thing to read when it arrives.
Where the money goes
At around 64 €, this costs roughly twice the HANMATEK, which publishes a tighter accuracy and a range two and a half times longer. What you buy instead is the enclosure: IP 65 and a drop rating are the difference between a meter that lives in a tool bag and one that lives in a drawer. If the meter is going to share a bag with a hammer, that is the specification that determines whether it is still a meter next year.
Availability
No such listing: the American Amazon shop answers the reference with a search box rather than a page.
Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 31 August 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
What it has, and what it lacks
Strengths
IP 65 and a stated 1.5 m (5 ft) drop onto concrete — the only meter here built for a working site
Color display, which separates the live reading from the stored ones at a glance
Seven measuring modes with automatic length, area and volume calculation
Takes a Li-ion battery as well as the supplied AA cells
Supplied with a pouch
Compromises
The listing does not state an accuracy figure — the number that governs the tool is the one you have to go to the manual for
Twice the price of the HANMATEK, which publishes a tighter accuracy and a longer range
Not found on the American market
Specifications
Amazon reference
B0FTLZX22W (identical on 5 markets)
EAN
4053423342406
Ingress protection
IP 65
Stated dimension or range
1.5 m (5 ft) drop rating
Functions
7 measuring modes
Display
color display
What gets asked here
How accurate is the GLM 40-31?
Bosch Professional does not state an accuracy figure in this listing. We do not publish one we cannot source: check the specification sheet supplied with the tool. What the maker does publish here is the IP 65 rating and the 1.5 m (5 ft) drop resistance.
What does IP 65 protect against?
Bosch states IP 65 certification against dust and water. That is a manufacturer statement of the enclosure rating; it is a stronger figure than the IP54 quoted for the budget meters in this hub.
Does it come with a battery?
Two 1.5 V AA LR6 cells are supplied. Bosch states the tool is also compatible with a Li-ion battery for longer runtime.
Our score
8.3/ 10
The one that survives the bag. Buy it for the sealing and the drop rating, and read the manual for the figure the listing leaves out.
This one’s price among measuring instruments
A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.
Details checked on August 31, 2026.
Who should pick this one, among measuring instruments
Anyone whose meter lives in a bag with other tools rather than in a drawer.
Accessories stated to fit this instrument
Listed because the accessory names this instrument itself.
Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 100.
The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.
Sources
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for measuring instruments and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
100 ft range — the only one on this shelf stated in FEET · ± 1/16 in stated, the only IMPERIAL accuracy here · two buttons, one of them for ROUNDING · backlit display · Class II, 635 nm, under 1 mW · NO ingress rating and NO reference edge published
The only meter on this shelf whose range and accuracy are published in feet and inches rather than meters and millimeters.
Best for: Interior work measured in feet and fractional inches, where a rounded figure is what goes on the cut list
20 m (66 ft) range · ± 3 mm (0.12 in)/m stated · one-button operation
A deliberately minimal meter: one button, a 20 m (66 ft) range and a stated accuracy of ± 3 mm (0.12 in)/m. It is the shortest-range meter in this hub and the easiest to hand to somebody who has never used one.
Best for: Somebody who wants a room measured without learning a tool, and will never need the far end of a car park.
100 m (328 ft) range · ± 1.5 mm (0.06 in) stated · IP54
The tightest accuracy figure published in this hub — the maker states ± 1.5 mm (0.06 in) — paired with a 100 m (328 ft) range, at a third of the price of the Leica that matches that reach.
Best for: The best-published specification per euro in this hub, for someone who measures long distances and does not need a documented workflow.